We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

電​氣​爆​発 (Electronic Aura Explosion)

by Tapes + 7FO


Tapes, aka Jackson Bailey, returns to EM Records for the first time since 2015’s “No Broken Hearts on This Factory Floor”, in a live collaboration with his pal from Osaka, 7FO, another of EM’s favourite artists. This CD features new arrangements of some Tapes digital reggae classics like “Ticker Tape”, “C20” and “Freak Riddim”, and new tunes including a dubbed-out version of the “Tetris” theme and “Summer Jam”, a jazz-fusionoid weirdo. The smoke is thick on these 14 ferric soul soothers and digital brain bombs, with drum machines and synths lovingly warped by tape echo and spring reverb, melding with 7FO’s fine guitar playing, often heavily effected, all working together to deliver the goods: digi-reggae, dub, ambient smoke, and hints of a new age. Ranked by Resident Advisor as one of the top performances at the 2019 Meakusma Festival, this is one you’ll enjoy, no matter what reality you choose to inhabit.

1. Intro
2. Dry Your Tears
3. Ticker Tape
4. C20
5. Freak Riddim
6. Nervous Riddim
7. Flying
8. Tetris Dub
9. Gun Dance
10. I’m Climbing
11. Gold Love
12. Summer Jam (Acid Live Mix)
13. Woman Dub
14. Outro


released November 29, 2019

音楽ナード絶賛のミアクスマ・フェスティバルでTapesと7FO( ななえふおー)が今夏行った衝撃のDUBセッションは、Resident Advisorでも「Meakusma Festival 2019: Five key performances」に選出され話題になったが、その衝撃の余韻さめやらぬ中、大注目のライブ・アルバムが登場!! お互いの音楽をリスペクトしあうTapesと7FOは2017年の日本ツアーでパフォーマンス相性の良さを確信。Rezzettのメンバーとしても大活躍するTapesのイギリス的エッジーな切れ味と、DOPINGを疑うほどユルい7FOのニッポン的侘び寂びDUBセンスがダンスホールレゲエという共通ファクターを通じて電気的に爆発。Tapesのデジタル・レゲエ・クラシックに新アレンジを施したトラック、ゲーム音楽をDUB化した「Tetris Dub」他新展開をみせるキラー構成で、更にラストに登場するイージーリスニングDUB(?)新曲「Summer Jam」の爽やかに病んだ音楽マジックには昇天必至!こうしたジャンルでライブ音源がリリースされること自体が稀であり、本作はCDフォーマットこそが最適!

Mastered by Takuto Kuratani
(c) Jackson Bailey
(p) 2019 EM Records



EM Records Osaka Prefecture, Japan

Orders from North America and Europe will be sent by DHL unless otherwise requested (updated Sep. 1, 2022). Please check our shipping policy about more details. Thank you.

contact / help

Contact EM Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like 電氣爆発 (Electronic Aura Explosion), you may also like: